Demystify Abuse

The Demystify Abuse Campaign Journey So Far

demystify abusetoday is 16th of June, 2017.
 
And today marks seven (7) months after the armed robbery attack that almost crumbled the foundations of my life.
 
Today marks it seven months since I was left with two options of –

 
-either letting the FEAR OF STIGMATIZATION push me to being SILENT about MY RAPE EXPERIENCE or
 
– SPEAKING UP on the EXPERIENCE and LENDING MY VOICE and my story to speak against RAPE and SEXUAL ABUSE and the need to reassure other victims that THERE IS LIFE AFTER RAPE/SEXUAL ABUSE.
 
I remember that morning as men, women and anyone who could, gathered in front of my house and taking a look at the door that was broken down my the robbers and turning to look at me with UGLY PITY as they kept saying “eyah sorry, you hear” and some who couldn’t say sorry with their mouth said it with folded arms and sunken looks.
 
I remember it all vividly this morning and my spirit is HAPPY that I did not let the experience KILL ME, neither did I let it keep me away from fulfilling this PART OF MY LIFE’S PURPOSE.
 
I am glad things turned out the way it turned out.
 
I am excited to say that since the launch of DEMYSTIFY ABUSE CAMPAIGN months ago, I can say that its aim is been met daily, weekly and monthly.
 
With the campaign, I’ve been able to see and use the painful experience turn it around for good and with the strength help and speak with those who were almost in same scenarios as mine get past their pain.
 
We have also been able to deal with cases of women in marriage, young girls in the universities and also young girls in secondary schools.
 
We have also been able to deal with cases of men and boys who were raped and sexually abused by fellow men and some by females.
 
Our Journey So Far…
 
We have held three campaign events.
 
1. On the 21st of December, 2016.
 
Minikpiti Playground, adjacent Ignatius Ajuru University of Education, Port Harcourt.
 
2. On the 13th of February, 2017.
 
Government Secondary School, Elekahia, Port Harcourt.
 
3. On the 25th of April, 2017.
 
Ajigbeda Senior Girls High School, Surulere, Lagos.
 
Plans on ongoing as we take the campaign to Abuja.
 
Date: 29th June, 2017
Venue: IDP camp, Kuchingoro, Abuja
 
I couldn’t have done this without the help of ALL of you.
 
I am grateful.
Thank you for your support.
Thank you all for being there for me.
Thank you all for the calls and the text messages.
Thank you all for the time.
Thank you for your financial contributions you’ve all made to my life and to the success of DEMYSTIFY ABUSE CAMPAIGN.
 
You are all loved and appreciated.
 
#DemystifyAbuse
Leave a Reply

